Scotland by tasanhalas - Corel - Scale 1:64 - First wooden build

Hi, I'm Duarte from Lisbon, Portugal, and this will by my very first build! Just bought the glues (CA and titebond) and I'm now working out a something to hold the model while it's being worked on.. 

This will be a slow, long project, But I bet I'll need a lot of help  as I've never done anything like this before :P
Thanks in advance!

And for my first question, after opening the box and making shure every big wood piece was present I went throught the instruction and noticed two things:

1) the first step shows the keel with a wood strip around it (Strip) but what piece is this? Can´t seem to find it.. there are several long wood pieces

and 2)  tried to fit the frames in place, but they sit several mm above the top of keel, where they shoul be flat. Waht's the best way to correct this?

Thanks

Hi Duarte,

I am presently building the Scotland and can offer help. Although this is also my first build, I have learned  a lot along the way.

The wood strip is one of the square walnut strips. It fits the depth of the false keel .

The bulwarks need to be flush with the top of the false keel. I had to file down the slots deeper to make them fit. If they are too tight to fit you may have to file the sides of the slots. But be careful as they must not be loose. They should be snug.

Keep asking questions , post some pictures as you go along so we may see your work and maybe see things that you may miss. Also, check out all the build logs on this site as they will give you great suggestions  that you may run into.

Now this was a trick part, the instruction are awful, the drawing of the deck doesn't match the deck! it isn´t centered  its off by some mm and the width isn´t equal...  but I did has they said and glued the guides.. surprise surprise when I tried to fit the deck the one in the back didn´t match...