Clevises - I think?

Hi-

I am basically a newbie, but I've been practicing silver soldering. The picture below shows a bunch of what I think are called clevises. The plans for the build call for bunches of them. These are made with 1/64th brass wire and just as a temporary measure I've put 1/32nd brass wire with the ends pinched down to act as pins. My question is that when it comes time to do the rigging and finally install them how do I keep the pins in place.

All help is appreciated.

Best,

John

post-18302-0-12280500-1431126118.jpg

Edited by Landlocked123

Member:

Connecticut Marine Model Society

Nautical Research Guild

Model Ship World

"So we beat on, boats against the current, bourne back ceaselessly into the past" F. Scott Fitzgerald - The Great Gatsby

"If at first you don’t succeed.......skydiving is probably not for you”

John,

These are more commonly known as 'shackles'.  To secure the final pins when rigging you can use any of a few methods:

• Silver solder the pins before rigging and splice around the pin during rigging
  • Fit the pin during rigging and secure it with a tiny dab of glue
  • Fit the pin during rigging and secure with a touch of soft solder (being very careful with the soldering iron
  • Go totally crazy and purchase a jewellers tap and die set and screw the pins in

John

Hi John,

Crazy sounds good, I just don't know if I can get there at this point. I'm not sure I understand what you mean about soldering the pin and splicing around them. Thanks,

John

Member:

Nautical Research Guild

Model Ship World

"So we beat on, boats against the current, bourne back ceaselessly into the past" F. Scott Fitzgerald - The Great Gatsby

RBModel has shackles, some with threaded pins, some with clevis pins (pin with a hole for a cotter pin).  I'm not sure if they go as small as you need, the smallest seems to be about 7mm tall. 

I've been dealing with these folks for years and have always been happy with their products.

Jerry Todd