I am a beginner and I know this may be a stupid question. I am working on the Phantom from MS.  I am trying to cut a piece of bassword that is an 1/8 thick.  I have a million exacto knives but it is very difficult to cut thru and still wind up with a usable piece. Short of some portable electric device, what is the best way to cut small pieces like a rudder out of basswood.. Thanks.

Hal

I would think a hand fret/coping/jewelers saw would do the trick.  Blades are easy to find in the 3-8 range. There are variety packs.  I think for basswood, you need very sharp edges to avoid tearing out the wood fibers. It is like a scroll saw, except that you are the motor.  You should find something functional for less than $20 US.

NRG member 45 years

Current:  

HMS Centurion 1732 - 60-gun 4th rate - Navall Timber framing

HMS Beagle 1831 refiit  10-gun brig with a small mizzen - Navall (ish) Timber framing

The U.S. Ex. Ex. 1838-1842
Flying Fish 1838  pilot schooner -  framed - ready for stern timbers
Porpose II  1836  brigantine/brig - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers
Vincennes  1825  Sloop-of-War  -  timbers assembled, need shaping
Peacock  1828  Sloop-of -War  -  timbers ready for assembly
Sea Gull  1838  pilot schooner -  timbers ready for assembly
Relief  1835  ship - timbers ready for assembly

Other

Portsmouth  1843  Sloop-of-War  -  timbers ready for assembly
Le Commerce de Marseilles  1788   118 cannons - framed

La Renommee 1744 Frigate - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers

Hal:

Welcome to the hobby.