i have been building Caldercraft Granado for several years, due to personal circumstances it is taking a long time. I was unhappy with the original deck which I laid, and replaced it but then I splashed some brass blackener on the deck, although only small I have managed to repair it as the build is too far gone to start again. Unfortunately the replaced planks stick out like a sore thumb, I thought if I applied a light stain to all of the decks it may not be so noticeable. Could anyone please advise what type of wood would have been used on ships in this period.

I used the kit tanganyika on my Caldercraft Badger, which I thought was ok, but switched to maple for my Pegasus.  Maple is a really great wood to work with, but you do have some color waves in the grain.  You can take a look at my Pegasus build (linked below) to see what it looks like.

If you want a wood that is uniform in color, some people use holly, which I find a bit too white.  Others use boxwood, which can be nice.  

Mike

Current Wooden builds:  Amati/Victory Pegasus  MS Charles W. Morgan  Euromodel La Renommèe  

Plastic builds:    SB2U-1 Vindicator 1/48  Five Star Yaeyama 1/700  Pit Road Asashio and Akashi 1/700 diorama  Walrus 1/48 and Albatross 1/700  Special Hobby Buffalo 1/32  Eduard Sikorsky JRS-1 1/72  IJN Notoro 1/700  Akitsu Maru 1/700

Completed builds :  Caldercraft Brig Badger   Amati Hannah - Ship in Bottle  Pit Road Hatsuzakura 1/700   Hasegawa Shimakaze 1:350

F4B-4 and P-6E 1/72  Accurate Miniatures F3F-1/F3F-2 1/48  Tamiya F4F-4 Wildcat built as FM-1 1/48  Special Hobby Buffalo 1/48

Citroen 2CV 1/24 - Airfix and Tamiya  Entex Morgan 3-wheeler 1/16

Terminated build:  HMS Lyme (based on Corel Unicorn)  

On the shelf:  Euromodel Friedrich Wilhelm zu Pferde; Caldercraft Victory; too many plastic ship, plane and car kits