Scottacus Triton - (repost by mod)

Mod Note - Some of the original Triton build logs have been saved and I will be reposting some of them up week by week. Please do not comment against them as the original authors have often moved on so will not be able to reply. If an original owner no longer wishes their log to be posted then please get in touch and the log will be removed. Also note that some of the original comments (usually attaboys but sometimes questions also do not appear

I’ve never built a plank on frame model before so I’m looking forward to giving it a try with this Triton Cross Section. I plan on using cherry for the frames and other structural supports with holly for the decks. My hope is to finish off one side of the model completely and leave the other side as a skeleton to show the structural supports. Upon studying the plans, it looks like all of the cherry pieces are less than ¾ inches in maximal width so all of the frame futtocks will be able to be edge sawn out of a standard ¾ thick piece of cherry. This will keep the grain pattern to a minimum. The wales might be made from stained cherry with an eye kept on cherry’s nasty tendency to be blotchy under a stain if not evened out first. Some experimenting will be in order to see which finishes will work best.

The first step was to build a framing jig. I’ve copied Uwe and others with the two level jig supported with 1/4 inch carriage bolts at several locations. The slight bowing out of the cut out is to accommodate the mid ship frames which follow the same fairing pattern. The top piece is at the level of the lower deck and is made from ¼ inch MDF. All of the lines were transferred off of the plans and scribed with a T-square and triangles. I have to thank Russ and the draftsmen for the excellent job that they have done in producing these plans. They are detailed and very accurate.

post-387-0-26156400-1364565060_thumb.jpg

Here we go!

Scott

Scott: