any advice which manf. has the best quality wood kit for USS Constitution?

sailordori

I'm new to this site, I am a return builder of model ships. As a kid 14 to 18 I build the plastic version USS United States and the plastic version of the USS Constitution.  Through the years between children and animals they were both destroyed. Now I'm 49 with wood working experience and want to try and build a wood version of the USS Constitution. Does anyone have advice on where is the best place to purchase a kit that has the best quality and good instructions. Seems when I find one on line it always fully assembled.  Also any advise on tools? If you had to pick one tool you wish you had or glad you have what is it? Hope you all can help give me a jump start it's been a long time.

Welcome back to our crazy world.  I have studied many different kits, and I believe if I were to build this model I would choose the Model Shipways Constitution.  Depending on your skills you can really build a very nice replication of this famous ship.  There is also a lot of help available on this site.  As for tools, I'm a bit prejudiced as I am a Proxxon Dealer.  I truly believe no matter what brand that the DB-250 Lathe and accessories is a must for ship building.  I offer a combo deal on my website for the small wood lathe and all accessories.  Not trying to sell - just advising.  PM me for more information or check the website.

John

http://www.proxxontoolsdiscount.com

John

Current Current Builds:

US Brig Niagara on my website

FINISHED BUILD LOGS:

New Bedford Whaleboat - page on my Morgan Website:  http://www.charleswmorganmodel.com/whaleboat-build-log-by-john-fleming.html

C.W. Morgan - Model Shipways 1:64 http://modelshipworld.com/index.php?/topic/1785-cw-morgan-by-texxn5-johnf-ms-164-kit/

USS Constitution - Revell 1:96 http://modelshipworld.com/index.php?/topic/1796-uss-constitution-by-texxn5-johnf-revell-196-kit/

website US Brig Niagara Model http://www.niagaramodel.com