Inert gas in a completed model's display case for preservation?

Have any of you used an inert gas to preserve a wood ship model in a display case? I am a cabinetmaker by trade, and we often use a squirt of an inert gas such as argon to preserve varnishes, stains, laquers etc. A little bit of an inert gas that is heavier than air squirted inside of a can of finish before sealing the lid prevents oxidization, keeping a skin from forming on the finish and preventing wastage. 

This is my question: If I construct a display case for a ship, either out of glass or plexi, and make it airtight, and replace the air with an inert gas, will it harm the model in any way? Has this been done before? I do appreciate the "patina" older wood gets, I deal with its preservation whenever we do a restoration at work. I would just hate to see the yellowing and fading of colors changing a model I have spent hundreds of hours on making look "just so". 

I figure a packet of silica would help trap any moisture or humidity, and maybe some activated carbon to deal with any offgassing, or varnish fumes, that might build up from the wooden model over time. My largest concern really is pressure. If barometric pressure changes due to weather or the season, and the display case is sealed, would the pressure difference inside and outside the case make a perfect seal impossible? I can make a glass or plexi aquarium that holds water no problem, but will it prevent the transfer of oxygen? A sort of bellows constructed into the base of the display case *might* work, some flexible but impermeable material stretched and sealed over an opening that would bulge in and out in response to changes in air pressure. Not sure how reasonable that might be, but it sure would look neat!