Hi.

I am just getting into CAD modeling and I have Solidworks ver 2005.

I am learning the very basics at the moment. Not easy at when your over 60.

The purpose of learning this is I want to do a very detailed cross section of the Victory.

My question is... Is there anyone else out there using Solidworks ??

I have found a few very good Utube starter videos.

Any advice apart from telling me to change software is welcome (as I already own Solidworks the cost will kill the project).

Many thanks Antony.

Best advice ever given to me."If you don't know ..Just ask.

Completed Mayflower

Completed Fun build Tail boat Tailboat

Completed Build Chinese Junk Chinese Pirate Junk

Completed scratch built Korean Turtle ship 1/32 Turtle ship

Completed Santa Lucia Sicilian Cargo Boat 1/30 scale Santa Lucia

On hold. Bounty Occre 1/45

Completed HMS Victory by DeAgostini modelspace. DeAgostini Victory Cross Section

Completed H.M.S. Victory X section by Coral. HMS Victory cross section

Completed The Black Pearl fun build Black Queen

Completed A large scale Victory cross section 1/36 Victory Cross Section

Antony,

If you are just learning this I do feel sorry for you, not trying to be disrespectfully to you or anyone else. But this software is very hard, I know for a fact I even went to collage for it just for this hobby. Making frames isn't easy like making gears and other stuff, I have books and more books plus videos etc. I wish I could tell you different but I can't. I am going to post some pictures for you and maybe you might understand what I am saying. And yes I know what the software cost, I am using version 2011 and believe me it not cheap at all and I got a break because of collage and the service.

post-163-0-50257000-1375002216_thumb.jpg

post-163-0-87011800-1375002216_thumb.jpg

post-163-0-20448400-1375002217_thumb.jpg

post-163-0-60941900-1375002217_thumb.jpg

post-163-0-02415500-1375002218_thumb.jpg

post-163-0-05348900-1375002219_thumb.jpg