HM Yacht Chatham by JohnW - Caldercraft - 1:64

Hello everyone

My name is John and although I’ve been a member for a few months now I’ve been lurking in the background and checking out all the kit builds.

I’ve been modelling for many years, mostly plastic and resin kits. I did have a bash at a wooden kit, the Del Prado Bounty, when it was published. Got as far as completing the first planking but then had to put it aside and when I went back to it most of the remaining parts had warped. So time to start again.

After looking at the available kits I decided to go with Caldercraft. They seem to have a good reputation and I like the idea of having a number of contemporary models available all to the same scale. I was thinking of one of the smaller and to be honest cheaper models (under £100) just in case I make a real hash of it. That brings the list down to Ballahoo, Chatham, Convulsion or Sherbourne.

With no real preferences amongst those it came down to Chatham simply because I picked up an unstarted kit for a little over £50 on EBay. I appreciate that smaller doesn’t necessarily mean easier but I think this is the right approach for me.

I haven’t been able to find any build logs here for Chatham so I’ve decided to start one. It is a bit nerve wracking going public as there are many super modellers here and I’ve no idea how this is going to turn out (or how long it will take). So here we go. No doubt I’ll have plenty of stupid questions along the way so any help and guidance would be much appreciated.

First step – I’ve checked that everything is there (which it is) and I’m now resisting the urge to get stuck in and instead am having a good study of the plans and the rather flimsy instruction booklet.

Current build  HM Yacht Chatham