HMB Endeavour 1768 3D Model

Ahoy shipwrights!

I'm new here and I'm also a newbie in ship modelling.

I'm recreating James Cook's first vessel with which he sailed to Australia.The HM Bark Endeavour is my first

ever ship model. I started working on her in December 2012. I'm using the book "Anatomy of the Ship:

Captain Cook's Endeavour" as reference.

519ax8s0o%2BL._SS500_.jpg

I want to recreate her as historical correct as possible and not like the todays replica, which has no bumpkins, a bigger

stern and other inaccuracies. But I really like the colour scheme of the replica, so I stay on that.

I'm working in Autodesk Maya and Autodesk Mudbox.

So here's a little summary of the last one and a half years:

Hull:

I had to make the hull a few times, the actual one is number five. The previous hulls weren't accurate enough. For the final

one drew curves following EVERY plank.

Stern:

Same goes for the stern. I made it 4 times in total. I've redone my first ones just to see that I made some errors and that

the windows didn't allign with the stern timbers/long counter timbers. So I had to overhaul it again. I made the deadlights as

well but they aren't adjusted to the final stern yet.

Cannons:

I finished the the 4pdr cannons an their carriages. The gunemblem of George III isn't finished yet. I've a WIP version but I'll

redo it in Mudbox later.

Figurine:

I finished the figurine on her stern. It was done in Maya and Mudbox but it seems I have to overhaul her because the

tentacles are a lot to fragile for a stern decorations. In stormy seas they would probably brea, as they are right now.

So here we go with all the images:

Bow view:

044k7ieo.png

Stern view:

035rfk6g.png

Quarterdeck, waist and forecastle beams:

015m9urj.png

Figurine:

figurine_11vyuty.png

4pdr cannon:

4pdr_19nu2z.png

Rudder animation:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ZWYWphMtZZg