Friesland by ChrisLinden - Mamoli - 1:75

Hello MSW,

I started building the Friesland one year ago, and maintained a build log at Dutch forum www.modelbouwforum.nl

Because I relied heavily on the build log by GreatGalleons, I decided to post my progress here as well. I hope it is fun for you to read. Mind I am new to the hobby, so expect a lot of (beginner) mistakes and troubles :) 

Let me begin to recap what has been done so far.

Building plank: 

chrisvanderlinden-albums-bouwverslag-fri

Keel and Bulwarks, dryfit

Note if you also want to build this Mamoli kit: The keel does not match the drawings/plans at all. Either make a new one from scratch or accept the deficiency. Also the bulwarks are what looks to be sawn by hand. The shape is really bad at times, with poor symmetry and alignment. I had a lot of problems getting the hull shape and the deck to all line up evenly. Take your time with this phase, certainly with this particular kit. 

Marked the rabbet line and bulwarks alignments on the keel:

I removed the back part of the keel to allow for shaping the rabbet line. Because my underwatership will be painted white, I did not worry about it look ugly at this stage. Will be filled, sanded and painted later.

Finished: Pinta, Amati

Current Build:  Friesland Mamoli 1:75

Hull structure

Adding hull structure supports. This required a lot of modifications to the bulwarks, to allow for the support beams to fit snugly.

Dryfitting the main deck part. This required widening all openings, as the deck does not match the bullwarks at all. Another one of many curious Mamoli prefab parts that does not match the plans/drawings.

Added some scrap wood blocks to sturdy up the hull structure. Make sure they are positioned backwards enough to allow for the metal gunports to fit in front of them.

HullBulkheadsSupports.jpg

Stern Gallery side structure