Clear Shellac Sanding Sealer

Has anyone used clear shellac as a sanding sealer on their models?  I have used it as a sealer for walnut gun stocks and it works very well for that application with an oil finish over it.  Only problem was that the shellac left a relatively thick layer on the surface that needed to be sanded off to get back to the wood.  Not a problem with a gun stock but might be with a more delicate structure.

My advice and comments are always worth what you paid for them.

I think shellac has a nice antique feel and look to it. I think I would lightly sand the finish coat and apply a good wax. IMO,oil would tend to attract dust and be difficult to clean on the details of a model.

Sincere Regards,

Bill

Passion is Patience...and I am a carpenter in any scale.

Current build;  Endurance - 1:70 scale, Occre

Current build;    H.M.S. Surprise - 1796, 1:48 A L

Thanks to all for their comments.  Think I will give it a try.  One reason I used in on walnut gunstocks was that it did a good job of taming grain that wanted to fuzz up when sanded and helped keep splinters under control.  A problem I have had with thin veneer second planking strips.

My advice and comments are always worth what you paid for them.

I think of sanding sealer as being a thick product.  Useful on open pore wood like Black Walnut, Oak, and A finish plywood to fill the pores and give a smooth even finish.  Intended more for full size furiture.

Shellac is an excellent traditional finish.  It can be as thick or thin as you wish.  It is not good for applications where it can come in contact with water.  It hydrates and turns white.  It can be easily repaired, but do not use it to finish a coffee table. 

A shellac finish can be removed with alcohol.