HMS Warrior by jbwok - Billing Boats - 1:100 - started October 2014

post-16334-0-55844600-1416303975_thumb.jpg

I've never tried a build log before, so please forgive any protocol violations: I'll learn as I go along!

I'm not a particularly good modeller, but I get a lot of enjoyment from it. I've built a dozen or so wooden boats - highlights are a Thames barge,King of the Mississippi, Louise, the Renown boat, Bremen and a matchstick paddle steamer - so  I just couldn't resist the Warrior.

I've got to the point where I'm about to start planking, learning a lot from StuartC's excellent log elsewhere on this site, but I've found a few more things that might help new buyers. I'll add some pictures where it helps.

1. Fig 1. Reinforce keel joins, taking care not to intrude on hull. I know you're not as clumsy as me, but...

2. Fig 3 and 4 - I assume you have lots of old planking strips in a box or drawer somewhere: try planking and staining parts 88, 89 and 90 as the deck will be visible down the ladders.

3. Fig 6 - I found that sticking small wooden joining tabs along the bottom of parts 25 and 26 were a huge help in lining up and attaching parts 27 and 28. Make sure you don't make them more than a few mm deep.

4. Fig 7. I very strongly recommend buying 'HMS Warrior - Ironclad' by Wynford Davies in the Seaforth Historic Ships series. The photos are very useful given the lack of detail provided by Billings, and there are interesting thing to learn in the text, such as the windows at the stern aren't, as you might expect, the captain's or admiral's cabin but actually dummies hiding the raising propeller and the officers' toilets! While you're buying books 'Warrior - Restoring the World's First Ironclad' by Andrew Lambert is also very useful

5. Fig 9. Although you don't get to the gunports for some time (Fig 22), it is vital that you make a decision at this point what you're going to do about them.