I have been using the NWSL Chopper for the past 30 years in my structure building

for model railroads. It's a great little device for cutting multiple lengths of wood. The big

downside is that one side of the cut will have a slight angle, top to bottom, that may  have

to be addressed. In my small 1/87 scale that generally is not a problem. Realize also that

I am cutting basswood strip almost exclusively. Hope this helps.

I had a chopper nearly twenty years ago and back then it was junk. But later in life I came across people using it and being happy with it and I said "really?" I found it flimsy. Maybe its a better product today but in my experience the arm that holds the blade was not fixed very well to the base nor was it nearly as inflexible as it should have been. I recall being disappointed with the guides it came with too, they were not robust enough and would not stay fixed in position.

Also, its only suited to chop very light materials. You are bringing the blade straight down onto the material so its a crushing action not a slicing action. 

Niagara USS Constitution 

I have had one for about 12 months. It is good for cutting planks up to 1mm thick. Any thicker and I find that the blade tends to flex away from the timber being cut in such a way that it is impossible to get a square cut. I found it great for getting good, square deck planks but other than that it wasn't much 'chop' :)

Hornet

Current Build: - OcCre Shackleton’s Endurance. 

Completed Ship Builds:

Caldercraft - HM Bark Endeavour. (in Gallery)

Caldercraft  - HMAV Bounty (in Gallery)

Caldercraft - HM Brig Supply (In Gallery)

Aeropiccola - Golden Hind

- Constitution

Clipper Seawitch (maker unknown - too long ago to remember!)

Corel - Victory

Modeller's Shipyard - A Schooner of Port Jackson - In Gallery

- Brig `Perseverance' - In Gallery

- Cutter `Mermaid'- In Gallery

- Sirius Longboat (bashed) - In Gallery

- Sloop Norfolk - In Gallery