whats an easier build for a first kit

rdestefano01

Hello,  I am new to this hobby and I'm ready to buy my first kit. I keep going back and forth between the AL 1:48 Surprise and the Model shipways Constitution. I understand none of these would be ideal for a beginner so I've decided to go with which ever one is an "easier" build.  Can anyone recommend one of these for a newbe.

ya, unfortunatley im to stubborn i have my heart set on one of these. in the end i will probably regret it. I do endless hours of reading and research on model ship building to stand a fighting chance of finishing these kits, but with no hands on experience i dont think it does much good. My mind is so wierd, when i think of one of these kits I get so excited i cant stand it, but then when I think of starting with an entry level model I lose all interest... it's the craziest thing.

Im sorry about that I realized after I posted it on the other forum this would be a better forum for this question.  I posted here then went to delete it there but it told me I didnt have permission to delete it. I screwed up.

The main thing that appeals to me is the size I want a big model and the suprise provides that. The Constitution in addition to being big is docked in my hometown. I can see the masts from my home. I have also looked into the caldercraft Victory because of its size, but it looks really tuff to build for me with double planking and many decks. time is no issue for me, even if it takes me 5 years im ok with that. I just dont know what to do. I want to minimize the chance of just giving up on my first build. but at the same time I want a big impressive model. And if those expectations weren't enough I dont want to paint it so all my screw ups would be in full view.