Well, that is a difficult query to accurately answer!  I suppose that, given just the query itself, my answer would be "It Depends".

Previous experience in wood and knowledge of the ship, as well as the era or time period of interest, can all drive the recommendation.  In addition, the bias of the respondent can also alter the recommendations. 

What i offer here are a smattering of what, to me as a beginner, I have found most useful.  It is not a complete list, and is heavy on some of the older "classics".  The purist builder will find this list shocking - it ignores some of the more modern writers (such as Edward Tosti and David Antscherl) and is focussed on the beginner and the development of experertise and skill, rather than the master builder guides.  Note also that most of my recommendations below are also readily available via various book sellers.

So, here we go:

Campbell, G.F. 1991. Neophyte Shipmodeller’s Jackstay. Model Expo Co.
Davis, C.G. 1984. American Sailing Ships: Their Plans and History. New York: Dover Publications.
———. 1986. Ship Models: How to Build Them. New York: Dover Publications.
———. 1988. The Ship Model Builder’s Assistant. New York: Dover Publications.
Dressel, D. 1988. Planking Techniques for Model Ship Builders. 1st ed. Blue Ridge Summit, PA: TAB Books.
Johnson, G. 1996. Ship Model Building. 3. ed.,  and enlarged, 11. print. Centreville, Md: Cornell.
Julier, K. 1993. The Period Ship Handbook. Annapolis: Naval Institute Press.
———. 1995. The Period Ship Handbook 2. Annapolis: Naval Institute Press.
———. 2003. Period Ship Kit Builder’s Manual. Annapolis, Md: Naval Institute Press.
Lankford, B. 1988. Watercraft Modeler’s Handbook. Silver Spring, Md.: Nautical Research Guild.
McCann, E.A. 1927. Ship Model Making: How to Make Worth-While Models of Decorative Ships. 1St Edition edition. The Norman W. Henly Publishing Co.
———. 1995. How to Make a Clipper Ship Model. New York: Dover Publications.