Need help on painting sails

MESSIS

I have no experience with Vallejo textile paint, but it sounds good...any textile dye will do I guess.

Best make several test swaps before you do something you'll regret.

Also worth trying...wash the painted swaps one or more times...to see what happens. A somewhat faded look can be very nice.

Avoid overly bright colours. Try to mix red with brown and maybe a bit black for the darker stripes.

When you wash dyed fabric with 2 colours...be careful...the colours can bleed/blend.

To set textile dye...wash with water with some vinegar.

Looking forward to your build!

Robin  :)

WIP: No ships atm...sorry!🙄

Completed: Greek bireme - Dusek - scale 1:72

Louie da fly: "I think it requires a special kind of insanity to choose a galley to build a model of."

It is a question of scale and what the base material is going to be. Real fabric is not really suitable except for the largest scales, say 1:20 or above, due to too coarse weaving and thick threads.

Personally, I would go for either the silk fabric that is/was used in model aeroplanes or fine paper. Both can be stabilised and shaped using diluted white glue or thin lacquer. They then can be painted e.g. with acrylic paints.

Below is an example from my own production (in 1:90 scale):

BotterModel-076.jpg

BotterModel-156.jpg

The sails are put together from individual panels. I gather something similar could be done for your sail and the panels painted in different shades of red (ochre). What is the latest research on Viking-age sails ? I am not up-to-date there, but believe that at some stage diagonal panesl were discussed and re-inforcements with leather stripes.

wefalck

panta rhei - Everything is in flux

M-et-M-72.jpg  Banner-AKHS-72.jpg  Banner-AAMM-72.jpg  ImagoOrbis-72.jpg

Do you mean a 'furling' sail, or a 'furled' sail, i.e. is it a static model, or do you want to move the sails ?