Rat line tension tool

First of all, I hope the pictures are attached to this post. It is my first try at it.

I have seen the experts tie rat lines and I am envious of their skill.

I have some experience but not much and became frustrated with the poor quality

I could achieve. I dreaded tying ratlines and almost gave up.

This might not be new but I finally stumbled on a simple idea and I am now happy with my work

[although my speed remains poor].

It is simply two pieces of square stock the size of the ratline spacing clamped in place

to use as a guide. I cemented a strip of fine grit sandpaper to one side of each square.

In clamping the squares together with the sand paper on the inside the lines are held

firm and I did not have to worry about the "hour glass effect" to the main lines. I also found

I could easily tighten the knots to secure them in place.

If you are a novice like me and have issues with your rat lines this may work for you like it did for me. 

JMS

post-2299-0-84743600-1481561275_thumb.jpgpost-2299-0-87912800-1481561286_thumb.jpgpost-2299-0-99545000-1481561294_thumb.jpg

Seems simple enough to try.  Anything that makes tying ratlines easier is worth a try. Thanks for posting.

Tom

Hello Johnny

I have tied many many thousands of clove hitches to make ratlines and this "new" idea is going to be used when I reach that stage in my present build. Thank you!!!

There aren't but two options: do it FAST, or do it RIGHT.

Current Project Build Log: Soleil Royal in 1/72. Kit by Artesania Latina.

Last finished projectsRoyal Ship Vasa 1628; French Vessel Royal Louis 1780. 1/90 Scale by Mamoli. 120 Cannons

Future projects already in my stash: Panart: San Felipe 1/75; OcCre: Santísima Trinidad 1/90;

Wish List: 1/64 Amati Victory, HMS Enterprise in 1/48 by CAF models.

So much to build, so little time!

Such a simple solution, will be giving it a try.

Mark
Phoenix, AZ

Current builds;

Previous builds, in rough order of execution;