Which Bluenose kit? (moved by moderator)

owend

Apologies if this isn't the right forum, but I'd like to appeal to builders of Bluenose/Bluenose II kits:

I'm thinking of this as my next, winter (!), project, and I'm confused by the number of kits, from 1/135 to 1/64 scale. I can see kits from Amati, Artesania Latina, Billings, Constructo and Model Shipways, and perhaps others if I look deeper.

Can anyone advise on the comparative merits? I want something with reasonable quality components, ideally precut sails as I'm not too good with cloth, and I'm intending to leave the above-waterline hull in wood so reasonable-quality planking.

Any advise welcome, and Moderators, please move this post if you think fit!

Owen

Previously: Billings Marie Jeanne, Caldercraft HMS Cruiser, scratch Clyde puffer, card Consul Pust, card HMS Saumarez, Caldercraft HMS Ballahoo half-hull, bashed Bermuda trading schooner half-hull, scratch tug Hermes, Constructo Louise, Amati Bluenose, bashed Billings Norden 

There are two Bluenose ships - the original and the Bluenose II.  The Model Shipways (Model Expo) kit is for the original ship, and was designed by Ben Lankford.  The instructions and plans are excellent.  The planking material supplied is basswood strips, but if you're planning to leave the wood unpainted you'll probably want to replace these strips with other wood.  One real benefit of using the Model Shipways kits is that they'll replace (at no cost) any parts that are missing or if you make a mistake and need to redo some work.  The metal components need to be made from brass strips supplied in the kit, which will require some soldering skills which are easy to learn.

Hope this helps.  Good luck with whatever kit you decide on, and I hope you'll be posting a build log for it.