Mills...Spindle Speed

Hello Everyone!

So I'm buying a mill. I've read here that most mini mills do not have a high enough spindle speed for what we do. What is high enough and what mills have it other than Proxxon's mill?

Please help me spend my money ;)

BIll

Passion is Patience...and I am a carpenter in any scale.

Current build;  Endurance - 1:70 scale, Occre

Current build;    H.M.S. Surprise - 1796, 1:48 A L

If working with wood and moving the table manually, I have a hard time imagining a need for a high speed. 1mm cutter on pear on 5k rpm gives a super clean cut, why should I spin it faster?

I am a beginner when it comes to milling, would appreciate an explanation from some more experienced members!

speed and feed work together

you can use a speed of 500 tpm if you want but the feed will need to be  slower

20,000 is a more accurate speed  because it will leave as smoother finish on a long run

you could probably do molding at a very slow speed but a slow feed would means  it would take 10 times longer to do

The idea is to find a middle speed of a motor which will give a reasonable feed

you could go to 50000 tpm for wood or metal but especially with metal, such a speed will throw  metal shavings many feet away if you do not stop it

Hi Bill, 

I have an older version of the Micro Mark mill that I got on a close out sale.  It has two pulley steps (speed zones): 70-1600 which i use with metal, and 70 to 2800 which I use for wood. 

I have had no problem with milling wood.  As mentioned above, I do need to feed slowly.  But, the parts are so small that slow does not really seem a chore and the parts are very smooth after the milling.  This is my first experience with milling so I don't know if faster speeds would really help that much in creating smoother cuts or saving time.