Build burnout

bluenose2

Hello Les here. I need some advice. I have hit the wall with my current build. The 1/72 Revell Snowberry. I have the full set of DJ Parkins photo etch for this kit. It has become a struggle to stay focused on this project with all of the detail in the etch kit. I have been building for 56 years and originally though this would be a good tour de force. Now I don't know, I now just want to pack it away and really not look at it again. Should I just gut it out or should I shelve this kit for much later after a breather? I have other easier kits that I am really looking forward to build. Any help would be good.

Hi Bluenose2

If I was you and I hit a brick wall and continued with the build I think I would make mistakes and I would not want that.

One mistake will lead to more.

I would do one of two things, take a rest from building and refresh your mind.

Or start another build.

But in the end it is up to you what ever you are happy with.

Denis.

I build in bursts.

4-6 months I'm at the bench up to 10 hours a week. And then I can't drag myself into the model room. It passes. Not sure the trigger but it passes.

Then I get back at it!

====================================

Currently building: Model Expo AMERICA, A/L KING OF THE MISSISSIPPI

Completed: Mamoli Victory cross-section, Revell LSM (Plastic, in memory of Dad), A/L SANSON tug, MS Longboat (awesome model Chuck!), Dumas 1949 Chris-Craft 19' Racing runabout, A/L SWIFT, MS ELSIE, Constructo ELIDIR (now LOUISE), Midwest Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack, Amati 1:80 Yacht ENDEAVOUR, Mamoli CONSTITUTION cross section, Revell VIIc U-boat (1:72 plastic), lotsa other plastic ships 

Next up: who knows - there are too many to choose from!

I personally would shelve it and take a break. Despite its frustrations, you're supposed to enjoy this hobby. Gutting it out should be left for life's difficulties.

All the best,

Richard. 

Richard