HMS Enterprize 1774 by mitchel - Shipyard - 1:96 - CARD - 28 Gun Frigate

Hello everyone

Well Christmas has come and gone and as promised I am starting a build log. One thing to notice straight off is that I have named the ship Enterprise with an 'S' rather than 'Z' which is the spelling on the kit. Not a big deal but something I want to do.

Now as stated in the title this is a card model. I have never done anything like this before so with the help of all you good people here I hope I can do her justice.

Here are 2 photos of the kit.

P1000339_zpscd7d1656.jpg

P1000338_zpse86938c3.jpg

Hi Michel looks very interesting and similar to larger frigates I for one look forward to updates and lots of photos to see how the build develops.

Ray

Current build A set of HMS Diana`s boats @ 1/48

HMS Royal Marine a Military class Trawler

Completed  HMS Diana

Completed build The Lady Nelson

Completed Build HMS Pegasus

Here are a few more photos. I am only dry fitting before I use any glue. You can see the numbering of the bulkheads here..

P1000341_zps06fe30ea.jpg

I turned the model upside down to help make a snug fit of horizontal formers and damaged the upper tips of the fo'csle..

P1000343_zpsf93cf98d.jpg

The bulkhead formers make a snug fit but I need to re-inforce the hull I think. Any suggestions? I am thinking of glueing vertical strips either side of the bulkeads and giving the whole structure a 'wash' with watered down glue.

And finally, a photo of the whole ship so far..

P1000340_zps60be9ba1.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

I thought the bulkead formers were a bit weak so I added pieces of paper to the bulkhead/horizontal formers. Not the neatest job I have ever done...

P1000352_zps5380859a.jpg

The transom formers are incredibly weak and just touching them breaks them easily..I will need to make a scratch version of the one I snapped and build the hull at the stern first to minimize any more breaks. The rest of the hull is quite sturdy..