Scotland by sygreen - Corel - Scale 1:64 - First wooden build

Hi everyone,

I have decided to start my model shipbuilding life with this Baltic ship model. I have no previous experience in any modeling but want to use this ship to work on my building skills

ANY AND ALL HELP would be appreciated. I have been reading the blogs on this website and followed a few build logs.

I hope all of you will not  be bored with some of my basic questions . I will probably look ill informed (which I am) and may not use proper terminology so please help me with that.

I will follow this up with my first pictures as I am trying to fit the frames on the keel.

Thanks for your help

Attached are pictures of the framing they are not yet glued

I have a question about the height of the frames. I am assuming that the height of most of them should be even with the keel. However, the 2 that are higher, how do I determine their height?

I am using the Fair-a-frame building jig the square the frames. However, the keel is too small and narrow to fit. Is this a good building jig to use. How do I fit the keel on the stand if it too narrow? Also the frames when fitted are too too long to fit using the frame, what do I do?

post-11098-0-90825300-1405631181_thumb.jpg

post-11098-0-32648500-1405631195_thumb.jpg

post-11098-0-21339900-1405631215_thumb.jpg

I used the same fair a frame when I was starting and you should be able to slide the bar over to be snug with the bulkhead former. Also make sure to check that the bulkheads and bulkhead former (what I think your calling the keel) are straight without any warping. (It looks like its warped a little in the 1st picture) I'm not familiar with Corel kits but typically the top edges of the bulkheads should be flush with the top of the bulkhead former. I would check the plans and overlay it if there is a plan view.

When dry fitting your bulkheads check and make sure they fit at perpendicular to the former. If its too tight it will twist the bulkhead.