Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack by Piet - FINISHED - Midwest Products - length 15"

Hello all you marvelous ship builders.  I am new to the kit build section of MSW but not new to building models.  My name is Petrus W. van Warmerdam and live in Palm Coast Florida.  I retired in 20o9 from Federal service with the Federal Aviation Administration as an Airworthiness safety Inspector.  My wife and I moved from the Pittsburgh, PA area to get out of the cold.

Having finished one scratch build of my own design and then started a self design of a Dutch VOC ship, also scratch build and currently in the finishing stage of a scratch build Dutch submarine, I thought trying my hand at a wooden boat kit.  This is not the first wooden ship kit I have tackled and a few plastic models but those are all a long time ago.

I chose a  mid 19th century fishing boat, the Muscongus Bay Lobster Smack.  It's an apprentice level 2 kit and I think that it won't be too difficult for me to tackle.  I'm also going to be daring and bash it some.  

There are few things I like to be able to show like the cabin, the actual working area and make the rudder movable.  There'll be some other changes I think in making but we'll cross that bridge when we get to it.

I just hope that I can do as well as PiperJoe!   Did all y'all see his little sloop?

When we lived in Bangor, Maine from 1979 to 1987, we had a friend who was a lobster fisherman but he worked with powerboats though.

I like the looks of this little boat, much like the Friendship sloop I designed and scratch build but smaller.  This boat will be donated to the "Injured Warrior" program.  A bunch of folks from MSW will attend in April, 2015.  If you are not familiar with this event then check with SawdustDave.  It'll be in North Carolina right off I-95 and anyone willing and capable to attend, please contact Dave.  We can also bring our builds to show (off ;) )  He has a beautiful model going himself.