HMS Victory by Seventynet - Caldercraft - Scale 1: 72 - first build

Hi all,

This is my first build and I am aware this ship represents an expert level kit, but I love a challenge, and so far, at least with all of the excellent build logs on this site I don't feel out of my depth. Although please be the judge of that as my efforts unfold.

I elected to take the bulkhead filler block path and even though it took me a while to shape these, I was happy I did. It allowed me to see how the planks would lie and provided a solid surface to mate the planks in these geometrically complicated areas.

Next set of pics to follow.

post-19382-0-00093100-1439146825_thumb.jpg

post-19382-0-73997400-1439146826_thumb.jpg

post-19382-0-19113400-1439146828_thumb.jpg

post-19382-0-58066300-1439146829_thumb.jpg

post-19382-0-74082200-1439146830_thumb.jpg

post-19382-0-87375800-1439146831_thumb.jpg

And final set that brings me up to where I am now. Lots of work ahead!

Ian

post-19382-0-66019300-1439147829_thumb.jpg

post-19382-0-52089900-1439147831_thumb.jpg

post-19382-0-82982800-1439147832_thumb.jpg

Edited by Seventynet

I'm only a second time builder (and the 1st ended up in the parts bin) so I'm not qualified to help. But I will say you have made a courageous decision to start with the Victory and good on you.. If this site had of existed during my first build I may have succeeded. It's being a huge help during my second build (HMS Mars). 

Good luck.

Malcolm 

Completed builds; Caldercraft Mars; Vanguard Alert, Amati Revenge

On the shelf; Vanguard DOK & the Sphinx