More Kit Manufacturers

mikiek

Don started a build on an interesting kit from a manufacturer called MarisStella. Granted I'm still a relative newbie to all this but I had never heard of this company before. Checking out their site - they have some interesting kits. Most are not your run of the mill Bounty or Constitution.

It seems like there may be 10-15 of the "big players"  in the kit business. We see them at all the major retail websites.  I'm wondering about these smaller guys - the ones that hardly anyone has heard of.

So 2 questions:

1. How do the small guys pop up and how do you hear about them?

2. Feel free to name any that you are aware of.

Sail on...... Mike         "Dropped a part? Your shoe will always find it before your eyes do"

Current Builds:                                                          Completed Builds:

Lancia Armata 1803 - Panart                                   US Brig Niagara - Model ShipwaysSection Deck Between Gun Bays - Panart  ; Arrow American Gunboat - Amati    

Riva Aquarama - Amati                                           T24 RC Tugboat  ;  Hispaniola - Megow - Restoration ; Trajta - by Mikiek - Marisstella ; Enterprise 1799 - Constructo                             

If we're talking strictly about wooden models, then I'd say '10-15 of the "big players'" is a generous overstatement; it's more like a half-dozen. My guess is that is easier for smaller fish to join in these days thanks to the advent of 3-D design software and cheaper laser cutting and CNC milling machinery. And thank goodness for that, too, since it means modelers have more choices now than ever.

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

Right on Chris. There is so much of the same ole stuff. The MarisStella site was a breath of fresh air.

Sail on...... Mike         "Dropped a part? Your shoe will always find it before your eyes do"