City of Monroe by cborgm – Scale ¼” to foot - Western River Steamboat - Finished

I have three river boats from kits, but this is my first attempt at a scratch build.Have just started so have nothing to show but a couple sheets of plans. Will add them in next post, but have to first reduce the size so they can be posted.

Plans by J. F Hale 1974

Flying Fish --  MSW

Essex ---  MSW

Constitution  --  MSW

Confederacy -- MSW

Philadelphia -- MSW 

Chaperon -- MSW

San Felipe -- Panart

Portland -- Bluejacket

I did some quick research and she's a fine-looking boat. I'm looking forward to this. How did you choose this one in particular?

Oh, that's interesting, I thought you were building this one (a sidewheeler). It's the only City of Monroe listed in Way's Packet Directory. Do the plans give any information about their prototype?

I wonder if the Fryant plans are for one of the three "Monroe"s known to be built? One was a centerwheel ferry, one was a sidewheeler, but the third was a sternwheeler that operated on the Ouchita River, built in 1886. The photo in that link looks pretty similar to your plans.

John Fryant's plans are of the same boat you are building.    See: http://www.steamboats.org/modelplans/p2-city-of-monroe.html

Bob

Every build is a learning experience.

Current build:  SS_ Mariefred

Completed builds:  US Coast Guard Pequot   Friendship-sloop,  Schooner Lettie-G.-Howard,   Spray,   Grand-Banks-dory

a gaff rigged yawl,  HOGA (YT-146),  Int'l Dragon Class II,   Two Edwardian Launches 

In the Gallery:   Catboat,   International-Dragon-Class,   Spray

I would love to build the sidewheeler you first referenced, but I haven't seen an plans for one similar to it.

I picked this one out of the "Fryant" plans about six months ago mainly from it's appearance.