1949 Chris Craft 19' Racing Runabout by gjdale - FINISHED -Dumas - Radio - 1:8 Scale

Introduction

I bought this kit about two years ago, having been enamoured by the excellent build log of Rusty on MSW 1.  Sadly, that build log disappeared with the “great crash”, although Rusty did re-instate the photo sequence from his build.

post-242-0-16226800-1421563052_thumb.jpg

This kit represents a couple of “firsts” for me.  First up, I’ve opted to go with making this a working radio controlled model – something I’ve never done before, but the Admiral thought it might be a bit of fun and so in a way this is “her” boat.  We have a pond/lake nearby and some grand kids that might also enjoy taking her for a spin (if they can wrest the controls from the Admiral, that is!) Secondly, the building of this boat calls for the use of fibreglass – something else I have never done before.

What's in the box?

The kit contents are interesting and appear to be generally high quality.   There is a mixture of die cut and laser cut parts, Mahogany strip wood, cast metal fittings (with what appears to be nickel plating), a type of plastic board (which forms the hull below the waterline), some aluminium strip (for the trim), and some styrene strips (that form the “caulking” for the deck planks).  The kit also contains all of the running gear required to make the boat operational, minus the motor, battery and RC units. These I bought separately at the time that I bought the kit.  The propeller supplied is a two-bladed plastic one, so straight up I opted to purchase a replacement three-bladed brass one (you can just see this in the centre of the photo below).

post-242-0-58490200-1421563063_thumb.jpg