Sergal Cutty Sark

bonedoctor51

Hi everyone.  I've been lurking for some time while struggling with the Sergal kit of the Cutty Sark.

As a way of introduction, I am an experienced model builder, and I wrote for years for Model Ship Builder Magazine.  I've had in storage a 1980's vintage kit of the Cutty Sark that I started to build about 5 years ago.  I'm a semi-retired orthopaedic surgeon, and even with my current work schedule I seldom get to spend more than a few hours a week on the project.  I have been using Longridge's book as a guide, as the number of errors on the plans make it impossible to build as shown. I have attached three pictures showing my current status.  I apologize for the inverted appearance.

Several questions:

Is a  fittings set still available?  Many of mine are corroded and broken.  I have been scratch building where possible.  I called Model Expo, where I got the kit originally, and they were not helpful, as they do not carry it any longer.

Any suggestions on building realistic deck houses?  I don't like the brass pieces and painting them did not work.  I have tried several solutions without success.

Finally, does anyone have a comprehensive rigging diagram showing all pinrail and fiferail attachments?  The plans as supplied are grossly incorrect, but I've had a hard time drawing up new ones on my own.  For instance, Longridge shows for and aft fife rails at the foremast, and they are different.  The plans as supplied shows a fore rail only with not nearly enough belaying points.

Any help would be appreciated.   Thanks   Lou Halikman

post-17187-0-88286500-1446766154.jpg

post-17187-0-37328000-1446766163.jpg

post-17187-0-22047900-1446766173.jpg

Hi Lou,

I wish I could answer your questions, but I can't so I'll just say: "Welcome to MSW".

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds: