US Brig Syren by hervie - Model Shipways - Scale 1:64

Hello everybody. I’m Hervie. Glad to join this company of model builders.

Why the Syren? Because of the excellent manual and because of the build logs found in this forum. I studied them all. Thank you members for your efforts in documenting your builds.

For those of you unfamiliar with Chuck Passaro's excellent manual, here is a link to it:

http://www.modelexpo-online.com/product.asp?ITEMNO=MS2260

Couple things about myself:

I’m a retired software engineer here in Silicon Valley. In addition to model building I write apps for the Apple App Store.

Since retirement I’ve built four model ships, one after the other, and all of the same ship: the Bluenose from Artesania Latina. (I know this is unusual, but like Steve Jobs said: “The journey is the reward”). I gave them away as presents.

That was eight years ago, and since then nothing on the modeling front.

Now I resurrected all my tools and am about to embark on the Syrus. I’m very excited about it.

About this log

——————

I'll skip the unboxing of the kit. Others have done a good job at displaying the contents.

I'll concentrate in describing the hurdles whose solutions I did not find in other logs. Possibly because those hurdles may be trivial for others to solve. Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

I am creating this log first as a document on my Mac, then transferring it to the forum log.

My tools

————

Aside from the regular clamps, cutters, dremels, measuring tools etc, I’ll be using four power tools.

1) a MicroLux Mini Tilt Arbor Table Saw from MicroMark. I use it with a vernier adjustable rip fence for very accurate rip cuts. (also available from MicroMax)

post-25164-0-56485900-1467342242.png

2) A single speed belt/disk sander. Big and clunky, but very useful, particularly the disk sander.

post-25164-0-33749400-1467342283.png

3 ) A scroll saw. Of the three the least useful for model building, but good to have when need it.