Does Laser Cut really do good to a kit?

civilian

Hi Everyone!

As I read some of kit review posts on the website, one thing caught my eye: more and more kit manufactures are in transition from the old CNC hull pieces to LASER CUT hull pieces. And many reviewers think laser cut pieces are better.

From a manufacture's perspective, laser cut is definitely a time saving strategy and allow to produce a kit in a relatively short period of time. As a result, more kits means more money.

However, from user's perspective, I cannot see significance advantages of laser cutting over traditional CNC pieces. Indeed, laser cutting can be very precise, but it leaves annoying burn marks on the edge of pieces, which sometimes can be not only aesthetically unpleasing, but also prevent rule from forming a strong bond between pieces. 

One other problem I notice is that some manufactures does not set up the laser cutter correctly. As an architecture student myself, I have access to some large scale laser cutter at school because we need to make lots of architecture models. Thus, it was not a surprise to me when I saw some kits have very think cutting lines and burn marks on the surface as a know the problem is out-of-focus lens or wrong power settings. With thick cutting lines, the goal of more precision does not exist any longer. With burn marks on the surface of pieces, I am sure you will leave your finger prints everywhere around your work station.

So in conclusion, I am not a huge fan of laser cutting. I think some manufactures (such as Corel & Mamoli ) have its reason to not switch production method. Please let me know if you have any thought on this topic.