18th Century Longboat by BobF - FINISHED - Model Shipways - 1:48 - Tri-Club

Hello all,

This is my first try at posting a project to MSW, so please be patient with me.  As part of the Longboat Tri-Club build, I've been lagging hopelessly far behind everyone else.  After studying the various models already posted, I feel that my offerings will be very redundant, and certainly not as good.  Anyway, I'm going to start with square one, and go from there.

post-2885-0-30035100-1364587726_thumb.jpg

Removing the burn marks on the back side of the sheets went quite well.

post-2885-0-76937700-1364587863_thumb.jpg

Next step was to duplicate the bearding line on the port side of the false keel, and make the necessary bevels for the rabbet.

post-2885-0-48070600-1364588020_thumb.jpg

post-2885-0-33013400-1364588130_thumb.jpg

Using a piece of glass and some clamps, I assembled the keel, stem and false keel.

post-2885-0-19010000-1364588152_thumb.jpg

I then squared up the stem and keel.  Using the glass plate and a sanding block it went quite well.  The sandpaper was attached to the block with two-sided tape, which is one of my most useful tools.

post-2885-0-09208600-1364588471_thumb.jpg

At this point, I constructed a building board.  The angle brackets had to be adjusted to ensure that they were square.  I then epoxied some basswood to one face of each bracket.  Slightly undersized screws were used to affix them to the building board.  This provided some adjustability.

post-2885-0-30223200-1364588889_thumb.jpg

post-2885-0-11635900-1364588890_thumb.jpg