Greetings from North Carolina

jedd

Hello everyone, I live in North Carolina and I am just getting started with model ship building.  I am retired now and was in search of a good hobby for some of my spare time.  I enjoyed building plastic models as a kid and though that I might like trying my hand at wooden ships so I bought a kit for an 18th Century Long Boat by Model Shipways about 2 months ago.  It seemed to be a good beginners project.  I am almost finished the build and have enjoyed the challenge.  I need the help of some of you experienced crew members to help me decide on the next model.  I have read the pdfs on Model Ship Kits and Kit Selection where I found much good advice.  Can you recommend kit makers who are known for their good quality and excellent instruction manuals?  I also need recommendations on which models would be best to consider for my second build.  Thanks in advance for any sound advice you can give me.

:bird-vi: 

Jedd

Welcome aboard Jedd,

As for your build, whatever you decide, make sure it has your interest and that you really want to build it.

That way you'll be more likely to get through the trials and errors.

I hope you get other answers as the only kit I've done was fom Constructo.

Anyway, when you begin your next build, feel free to start a buildlog.

This is a great site for learning/sharing tips and techniques.

If needed, you'll find plenty of help, advise and encouragement from everyone.

Enjoy your stay here.

I wish you smooth sailing and happy modelling.

Regards,

Anja

Those we loved but lost are no longer where they were, but are always where we are.

In the gallery: Albatros 1840 - Constructo

Hi Jed,

Welcome to MSW.   Go with Anja's advice about the model.  The manufacturer... that's horse of a different color.  There's been a lot of discussion on intructions, etc. here:  http://modelshipworld.com/index.php/forum/24-wood-ship-model-kits/

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me