Confused newbie

Racer2000

Hello to all. My name is Bruce, recently forced into retirement and I'm a rookie to wooden model building.

I have read the posts on choosing your first build and have learned a lot about the topic. Most posts though are several years old and was wondering if anything pertinent has changed recently.

I am debating between plastic or wood. I believe plastic offers more of a straight forward build (meaning no fabricating of parts, but due to age of molds a lot of flash to remove as well as the chance of parts being missing or warped) and usually less rigging allowing a newbie to get their "feet wet" but it is plastic.

Small wooden kits of row boats, long boats, cut aways and viking boats just don't perk my interest. I was wondering if this might be a good first model. https://www.amazon.ca/Bluenose-Starter-Boat-Kit-Wooden/dp/B00MOBMJZ2

I also have a few questions if you don't mind:

is this being a smaller model of only 13 inches, will tying the rigging be an Issue?

Is trying to shape a solid hull that much easier than building a single plank pob model?

Thank you in advance for those who respond.

Cheers,

Bruce

Bruce,

First and foremost, welcome.  Let it be known that you are one of over 26,000 members that are probably confused at one time or another with our builds, so you are far from being alone in that regard.

I am sure you will get a lot of responses regarding kit recommendations. 

Allan.

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU

Actually, i dont think this will be a rewarding kit.

It looks like a bunch of slightly-out of-scale-put-together-parts.

It is not size as such which is the determining factor, it is scale. Anything below1:64 is kind of fiddly. A large scale model of a small ship is easiervin that respect.