Greetings from Oxford

Hello all.

My name is George, and I am a first year student reading law at the Queen's College, Oxford. I hail originally from Cheltenham, a small spa town not far away. I have over the years constructed many plastic models kits, including some of naval subjects, and having built several such kits concluded that the time was right to step into the world of wooden model ship building.

To facilitate this beginning, my parents very kindly gifted me for my just-passed 20th birthday the Constructo Enterprise kit, a ship I selected for its seemingly appropriate level of complexity and for its suitability as a component of my grander ambition of filling a shelf unit with every vessel named Enterprise from sail to starship. 

I shall commence construction at the conclusion of term, the 19th March, and have until then to assemble a basic roster of tools to facilitate construction. I already possess a simple craft knife, basic sanding tools and a pin hammer from my existing model kit work, but have set aside a budget of approximately £100 to acquire further tools based on recommendations from this forum. 

Any advice you could provide on this or any other matter related to model ship construction would be most gratefully received, and I hope to enjoy contributing to this forum for many years to come. 

Hi George,

Welcome to Model Ship World.  First off, forget everything you have learned about plastic model ship building.  You are in a whole new world with wood.  I learnt that lesson the hard way.  Secondly, there are several posts that discuss tools.  One place to look is here 

http://modelshipworldforum.com/ship-model-materials-and-tools.php

Please start a build log and post pictures of your progress.  There are some very darn good modelers here that can help, guide and encourage you along the way.

Derek