Recommendations For A Good Milling Machine

Over the years I have acquired a basic set of model making power tools. From way back when, I acquired a Unimat lathe and recently upgraded my saw and  thickness sander to Byrnes models. Big boy shop tools have helped fill in the gap for other operations.

I have been considering a vertical mill but I sense I am entering a "dark" area as I have little experience with them. The use would of course be for ship modeling but even a deliberate search yields a bewildering array of machines and pricing. I perceive my needs would be for milling brass, aluminum and of course hard woods. Variable speed of sufficient power, of course an appropriate X/Y table, an array of available accessories are the "must haves". The"nice to haves" list at this moment is small but I sense CNC adaptability might be in on that list. Price ceilings I would be around $1000.

In searching this site, and of course the web, I did come across some options but what I am looking for is a consensus or member recommendation of what manufacturer or direction to go. So any of you accomplished millers out there can you help me decide? 

I will always vote for Sherline.  They have several models, and I like the 5400 with the 12" base and resettable hand wheels.

No matter what mill you go for, you should be aware that you'll spend as much (or more) on accessories.

I bought a MicroMark mill a few years ago, had the gearing switched for higher speed (wood vs metal) and have never been happy with it.  Finally got a Sherline and couldn't be happier.  Much easier to set up and plenty of support.  10% discount for "seniors".

Maury

You and I are in the same boat: owners of a unimat lathe and looking for a suitable mill. I had focused on the weight of the machine. I think the sherline comes in at around 100 lbs. while the German and Chinese machines are considerably heavier than that....more machine than I need? I'll be interested in what others here think.

Tom