Chuck

Market Share for Kit brands based on MSW Build Logs

Every 6 months I conduct analysis of the market based on the number of active build logs.  I believe it is an accurate gauge of where the market is commercially and where folks are spending their money.  Its a bit wonky to do but I wont read into the numbers for you.  I have my own opinions as to why and where the market share and money goes where it does.  At least based on MSW data which has a pretty good cross section of the international market although maybe skewed a bit towards the US market.  I have been doing this for 3 years now every six months.  It helps me hopefully make the right decisions as to where I should steer my business.

I just thought it pertinent based on another topic we are having in this forum.   

Why are people (at least on this MSW forum) spending their money with one manufacturer over another.  It could be many factors.  I think some of the results will surprise you.  Everyone complains about the quality of some of these MFGs who are the top sellers....while the companies with better quality according to  the consensus sell far less even after much positive news and press.  The trend is changing but too slow for my tastes.  The newer, smaller companies have been slowly gaining ground.  What reasons could there be for this....

-age of the company and number of subjects they offer

-Quality of product and accuracy

-Price

-Availability

- I just had it in the closet already

-Many others.....but I will leave it up you to form your own theory. 

Keep in mind the three companies in red.  These are not your traditional kit companies.  They produce framing kits or partial kits as opposed to the others who put everything you need in the box. My company is in this category but really only because I have just one subject/offer at the moment....Cheerful.   But I still faired well against some others.  I hope to move up a bit after the barge is released.