mikiek

What Goes Around Comes Around

Act of God? Act of the Devil? None of the above?

I have been building wooden model ships for several years now. Right after I started, I began to see this image in my mind. It was from my childhood.  We lived in a small neighborhood and my parents had many friends that lived there as well. We would often visit them in their homes.

I could not remember whose house it was, but the image was of a wooden model ship set on a small table in a hallway. The image would come and go through the years and I always wondered whose house it was. This was 55 years ago, many of those friends have passed on. I doubted if I would ever get the answer to my question.

Recently, I received a phone call from the son of one of those friends. His father and mine had been best of friends over the years and had stayed in touch up until recently. As it turns out they are but a few of the folks left that were part of that neighborhood group – My dad is 91 the other gentleman is 90.

The son suggested that we try to get fathers together for lunch and I agreed. A few weeks later it happened. It was great to see them, I could tell the dads really enjoyed catching up and being in each others company. Somewhere during  that time the thought came to me to ask about my image. It wouldn’t hurt. As soon as I mentioned I built wooden ship models I could see the gentleman’s eyes light up. When I mentioned my image he immediately nodded his head. The boat I envisioned had in fact been at their house in the old neighborhood.