HMS Hood by Dan Vadas - Halinski - 1:200 - CARD - FINISHED

Hi all. Here's the start of my latest Card model - HMS Hood, at the time of her short-lived battle with Bismarck. She was sunk on 23rd of May 1941. Information on Hood can be found on Wikipedia HERE.

The kit is from Halinski in Poland, a kit manufacturer that I've had some experience with (see "IJN Amatsukaze" in my signature). I had a lot of fun with that kit and found every aspect of it from design, printing and even the instructions to be excellent. A bonus in this kit is that there is a separate sheet of instructions in English, so I won't be needing Google Translate this time. Although I rarely looked at the written instructions anyway :D, mostly I just used the photos.

There are 20 sheets of printed parts. The number of parts on each sheet range from 5 to well over 250, depending on their size :

The Kit (4).JPG

I also bought the Laser-cut set of frames etc. There are 14 different sheets, but also about 6 of them have two identical sheets - some or most of the parts are probably glued together to double their thickness :

The Kit (7).JPG

I also bought the Metal Barrel sets, and whatever PE Halinski had for this ship (12 sheets). However, NO railing was supplied in the PE set, so I will need to buy the Railing Set from Eduard's for the plastic Trumpeter kit - hopefully I won't need to modify too many pieces :

The Kit (2).JPG

I've finished all the initial preparations. I bought two A3 size Display Books to hold all the separate sheets of parts :

The Kit (3).JPG

The instructions are mostly in the form of computer rendered pictures which I found much easier to work with than the very poor line-drawings in the Bismarck kit :

The Kit (5).JPG

The Kit (6).JPG