HMS Victory Bow Section by Tidbinbilla - Panart

I started this kit about 3 months ago.  At best it's been a struggle.  The most difficult part has been trying to interpret the instructions.   I get the impression they were converted to English from Italian via some unsophisticated computer program.  If it were not for the build log by others, especially Jeff, on this forum, I would have probably given up and tossed the kit in the bin!

I basically followed Jeff's approach on building my kit.  My skill level is not quite up to his level, so I cut out some of the more minute details.

This rigging instructions are horrible.  I reverted to the picture on the box and other reference books to get a better idea of how to properly rig the ship. 

This is my first attempt to plank a hull.  It did not go well at first.  My first effort was so bad that I tore it all out and put the hull away for about four weeks.  The next time it went better as I soaked the wood overnight and got better at using the electric shaping iron.  I discovered that my fairing was only fair but could make minor adjustment with some additional sanding and shims.  This first layer of planking was a far cry from where it should have been - lots of gaps between planks and unwanted twisting, etc.  But nothing that could not be corrected with some wood filler and lots of sanding!!  I got it to a point where I'm confident the second layer will go on easier and fit correctly.

I'll add some pictures later...

Thanks

Tidbinbilla

Hi.

Wishing you well with the second layer.

Waiting for the photos.

Regards Antony.

Best advice ever given to me."If you don't know ..Just ask.

Completed Mayflower

Completed Fun build Tail boat Tailboat

Completed Build Chinese Junk Chinese Pirate Junk

Completed scratch built Korean Turtle ship 1/32 Turtle ship

Completed Santa Lucia Sicilian Cargo Boat 1/30 scale Santa Lucia

On hold. Bounty Occre 1/45