Cannon Jolle 1801 by Jim Rogers - FINISHED - Master Korabel - 1/72 scale

This is my first build log. I have been building wood models for about 10 years and they were always meeeh. And then I found this website and I have learned so much so thanks to all.

I picked this model for a couple of reasons one it is different and unique in style, I wanted build something from a new manufacturer, well at least to me, and it is my tweener project between my just completed Syren and my start of the Essex.

My Likes and dislikes of this kit:

Likes: masterful lazing of parts, the preformed planking is spot on. The instruction PICTURE booklet is very helpful, the English version is just okay. Now that being said my Russian is non existent so more power to the multi-linguist designer of the instructions. Terms are different which lends to some confusion. 

Dislikes: the name plate is only in Russian. Evil Chuck Passaro has turned me into a line and block snob. I totally did not care for the line provided with kit. It was all shiny and all brown. I attempted to use the blocks supplied but they would all disintegrate or split in half when drilled and the hole was so small My 68 year old eyes just could not use it.

What was in the box:

E3E7A510-7544-4BDA-AC71-BE889D0D874C.jpeg

3C65BA22-6817-46BB-862C-06BBDA9DFB31.jpeg

Regards,

Jim Rogers

Damn the Torpedoes , Full speed ahead.   Adm David Farragut.

The first steps all involve assembly of the hull frame. The frames are all a little bit thicker than the plate (Z2) so you must sand them down. I used 220 sand paper glued to a piece of marble to make a large even sanding block. Couple of passes on each side and they fit nice and snug. Be careful in assembly as they will go in both ways. Verify the notches are all aligned. First photo shows notches NOT aligned properly.

AA4FDD28-A495-49B1-9528-F1AFC20F958A.jpeg

E2647982-3BE5-4CFB-B0CA-DD0718A45549.jpeg

1E101BA7-5EE6-42BA-865B-2E132D0CEABD.jpeg

Regards,

Jim Rogers