Rory Manton

Good Morning, from Somerset.

Hello everybody , my name is Rory and I’m an addict plastic aircraft builder who has strayed into the world of wood. I was told about this site by a Mr James Hatch and though I’d swing by and pick some brains, ideas and tips to help with my first build. Hopefully , in time , I will be able to give something back to the forum. This is what I’m building at the moment, it is my first attempt and I’m enjoying it immensely. Helpful criticism is always welcome. Please excuse the phone photos, I’m worse at photography than I am at models.

233E4267-6C40-410B-9A05-7C0636A4A13E.jpeg

12613048-8605-4AA5-BB6E-2297A1A52723.jpeg

FA3460BA-5A41-4088-AD4E-C965E7C8DC26.jpeg

Welcome to the site.... I've only been a member for just over a year but have found it to be a great resource for all things nautical modelling. :piratebo5::cheers:

Cheers from Sydney Australia...... Fernando

Hi Rory,

welcome to the site, enjoy your stay and have much fun with wooden modelboat building.....

Nils

Hello Rory ( some of my ancestors came from Yeovil, and settled in NZ) - love the photos , and trust you 'll enjoy model building with NRG MSW. welcome  to this forum.  Paul

Welcome to a 'candy store' for modelers who love their hobby/passion. Better than Willy Wonka. Don't neglect surfing the net for websites run by model kit manufacturers/sellers. There's lots to look at. BTW, your build looks good. I love the modeler's mess around it. Reminds me of home.

Welcome Rory. I noticed you appear to have used  half hitches to tie off your rigging. For a more realistic look try seizing them instead. There are several good videos on YouTube that show you how to seize. This will enhance your already well built model. You are doing a great job.

Welcome Rory , i,m not long back from a visit to Yeovil , i have a son workin there , lovely country . you will get any questions answered here so just ask , 

Have fun,, Boyd.

3 hours ago, Jim Rogers said: