Dr PR

Dr PR

I have been building ship models since I was a kid (about 65 years). I started with plastic models and then began building scratch built models out of balsa. In my 20s (when I could afford it) I graduated to wooden ship model kits.

I was fascinated with ships and joined the US Navy, entering Officer Candidate School in 1968. I "retired" as  a Lieutenant in 1972. I served on three ships, two minesweepers (USS Cape MSI-2 and USS Ruff MSCO-54) and a cruiser (USS Oklahoma City CLG-5), all having wooden decks. I wanted to model two of these ships, but there are no kits made for them, so scratch building is the only resort.

I did nothing for years until Christmas of 2004 when my oldest son presented me with a 8" x 8" x 72" present. "They are giving me new skis?" I wondered. No, it was a 6 1/2 foot long fiberglass hull for a Cleveland class cruiser. The USS Oklahoma City CLG-5 was a converted Cleveland class ship. That started a 14 year odyssey (so far) to research, design and build a 1: 96 scale model. This evolved into a CAD model to create plans for the real model and an extensive web page for the ship, with the ship's history and a history of the modeling progress (https://www.okieboat.com/).

I have been posting on The Ship Modeling Forum (http://www.shipmodels.info/mws_forum/index.php) in the Virtual Shop Modeling section (http://www.shipmodels.info/mws_forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=70810) for years. I have just discovered this forum.

I am a former NRG member, and I am considering restarting my membership now that the Ships in Scale magazine has been acquired by NRG.

Phil Hays

ship stbd beam 1024 C.jpg

Edited by Dr PR