Dave's 1951 XK120 Jag Roadster - FINISHED - 1/24th scale

A brief background story.....

Recently, while attending a competition in South Carolina, (entering three of my ships).  For those not familiar with IPMS clubs, the members are passionate plastic kit modelers.... cars, planes, military tanks and artillery, and lots of Star Wars stuff.  My ships seemed to be a real treat for them.  Long story short.... I had to promise to build a car to enter in next year's event.

Since I am a pure scratch builder / wood artist.... I agreed to do a car for them without a clue as to what I would choose.

During the three hour drive home, a plan was formed.  I couldn't wait to get back to my shop.

After HS graduation in 1961, taking my first full time job, I bought my first set of "wheels".... a "ragged out" 1951 Jaguar XK 120 roadster.
The car was shipped from Europe to the US by a soldier stationed at Ft. Bragg.  The aluminum body was in good shape but the paint job was dull and badly faded.  Upholstery was warn and sun cracked.  Worst of all, most of the engine parts were in the trunk.
With help from my uncle, we worked every night and full weekends for almost a year.  New paint, upholstery, and complete engine and tranny tear down.  Upon completion, it was absolutely mint!

So here we go.... Flat-top hair cut, peg legged pants, turned up collar, white tee shirt with cigs rolled up in the sleeve, penny loafers with no socks.... get the picture?

Here's a photo taken from the internet..... identical to the one I restored.

jagpic11.jpg.5cee903b049dfae1e5a03777295832d4.jpg

Sawdust Dave -

Current build - USS Constitution 1:60th (scratch)....

Visit my blog site - All previous builds.... http://davesmodelships.blogspot.com

Being such a classic sports car, the internet is loaded with plenty of photos and research information to help me create the model.
I found this perfect scale drawing showing all four profiles needed to carve the shape in detail.