Lincolnville Wherry by John Gummersall - FINISHED - BlueJacket Shipcrafters - SMALL

I have decided to take on the Lincolnville Wherry...  Seemed like a good one to start with....being a rank beginner,,,,

This is my first build log, so hopefully I will make it informational and interesting for other beginners that would like to build the Wherry...

IMG_20190120_080827308.thumb.jpg.bf9c7a9a1b605a7ccbd948fa8bb510a7.jpg

Be sure to read instructions carefully and try to build the entire model in your mind before you begin.  
Wherry is built from  a jig, and instructions start out explaining the jig build process and showing pictures of the completed jig.   One issue (if you did not read the instructions first) is that, after the jig is built it mentions that you should mark the Stem, frame J5, and the transom pieces with a pencil where the tops of each planks are to be placed.  These marks show the position of the planks before gluing.   It would be very difficult  to use the sketches and mark the frame J5, and the transom pieces with the jig completed.  

I suggest marking the frame J5, and the transom pieces before you build the jig

Plank_Markings.thumb.jpg.e9914c1490209603c63f9e8f6ebe036c.jpg

Below is the completed jig.  You can see it would be very hard to mark the Stem, frame J5, and the transom pieces from the completed jig,
Die cut parts for the Jig were very good.  Only a little sanding required to make the part fit the jig diagram.    
IMG_20190120_080216780.thumb.jpg.0ca361e893663660fae1ee48e90aa6be.jpg

Next step is building the Keel and backbone.  Ran into my first issue.  Note in the next two photos that the stem piece (K1) does not match the plans

IMG_20190120_080356751.thumb.jpg.1c24739c700da33eba623421d581a3dd.jpg
IMG_20190120_080558914_HDR.thumb.jpg.864c760b09e305fb93ea904ee45366a5.jpg