Gripos-kaiki by Giorgos - Finished

Hello everyone.

As a school teacher I have a good relationship with books, so I read a lot and all kinds of them. However my feelings are particular for folklore books.

Recently dropped in my hands, one of those folklore books, titled as "Proti-Antigone" which is referring to Princes' Islands circa the end of 1880.

The book especially is focused to the Island with the early Greek name "Antigone" - or «Burgazada» now in Turkish.

The author describes the way of life at that time, and in a part of the book, stands in the main occupation of the inhabitants, the fishing.

He refers to a special way of fishing, the "gripos" (traine (?) and the particular boats that they were used for this purpose.

...........................Gripos-1.JPG

According to the book, "gripos" is the way of fishing where two boats in cooperation, were throwing a net to a side of a herd fish and then, paddling (at that time) in coordination, they were  leading the herd to a coast with sand, where they were completing the collection of the catch. For this way of fishing, were used special, light and narrow vessels, called as "Gripo-kaika" (gripos-kaiki (or Caique)) because of the special use.

...........................gripos-2.JPG

Standing at the section of presentation of these boats, I was surprised as in front of my eyes I had a very detailed description of their construction and decoration. I immediately realized that I had found the motivation and what would be my next model...

In my followed research, I found that this type of vessel, apart from the Princes' Islands, were also used in Marmara Sea and therefore by all the surrounding nations. Greeks as (Αλαμάνα-gripos)-Turks as (Alamana) and Bulgarians as (Аламана).

.......................................420_001-n.JPG