Cutty Sark 1869 by Dognut - Constructo - Scale 1:115 - First build

At long last I’ve finally moved from “lurking” to getting my build log up and running. Many thanks to those members who gently – and not so gently – encouraged me to do it!

First photo is the “obligatory photo of the kit” – I’m dong this as I’m new to discussion forums, and I’m using a camera I inherited, so the learning curve is rather steep at the moment.

I have had a long fascination with the Cutty Sark, dating back to early childhood – mid sixties, when my dad built the Revell kit. My interest in actually building one myself was re-awakened about 7 years ago, while I was browsing around a hobby shop, and came across a very big CS kit (can’t recall manufacturer). Retail price at the time was about R5,500 (was about $800), so this was out of the question. I was further “discouraged” by the shop owner, when he saw me looking, that even he would not attempt a “Cutty” – and he had some beautiful models on display.

Then about 3 years later, I happened to be in another hobby shop, but this time I was seriously looking. I was gravitating to the “Rattlesnake”, and had seen it in one shop, so I was looking for a better price, hence the visit to another shop. While looking, I came across another “Cutty” kit, and my eyes nearly popped when I saw the price tag – R1,675 (about $200 at the time). Before I knew it, the plastic had been whipped out, and I was out the shop with my “prize”!

Once back home, I opened the kit, and realization started sinking in that this was in a different league to any model I’ve built before.  Undaunted, I started the build, and made fairly good progress, until I hit a major problem with the hull planking. More about this in next posts – that’s if anybody is still following after reading this book!

post-1214-0-19607300-1373634865_thumb.jpg

Regards,

Dognut.

Currently building - Cutty Sark 1:115- Constructo : First build