Ship's Boat By KevinR - FINISHED - Model Shipway - Small

Hi everyone. This is my first Build log. I have built several plastic models over the years but this is my first planked model. I chose this model because it was cheap and small. I figured it would be a good project to learn on. If I screw it up I would only be out $5.
Here is what was in the kit.

post-9530-0-11427900-1388270155_thumb.jpg

Not much to see.

post-9530-0-67849000-1388270156_thumb.jpg

I cannot see any details in the images so they are no help. If it was not for the line drawings I believe I would be lost.

post-9530-0-08894600-1388270158_thumb.jpg

My first step is to stain the parts. At this point I have not decided whether to paint it or leave it natural. I have a feeling that I will paint it to hide my mistakes.

(Edited to fix images)

Kevin

Hampton, VA

Current Builds: Skipjack Albatross - 1:32

On Hold: Yacht Atlantic - Scientific

Completed:  Ships Boat - MS - First Planked Kit

Hello Kevin

I love this little MS boat kit, She's a great little kit but I would say this.... as a first build she may be a bit frustrating. The assumption that small equals easier doesn't always hold true in ship modeling. Not to say you've made a mistake by starting with this kit, just don't expect it to be easier based on size. I'm looking forward to seeing another of these built.

My build is linked in my sig if your interested and I'll be willing to answer any questions you may have.

Don't forget the first rule of wooden ship building (pretty much the same as with plastic), HAVE FUN!  :dancetl6:

The size is proving to be quite a challenge.

I have learned a few things along the way, just because the parts are laser cut does not mean they are the perfect shape. As for as the kit there are a few things that I would recommend are do differently.