Oseberg Viking Ship by Jack P - FINISHED - Billing Boats - 1/25 Scale - 9th Century - (Modified)

Greetings Everyone,

This is my first build log and I missed the ritual box opening.  I was already putting things together before I realized I should have photographed it first.  The plans and directions are pretty sparse but it is a fairly straight forward ship.  The keel had a slight bow in it but I used a little warm water and bent it a little past straight and it dried nice and flat.  This is the kit version with the plywood scrollwork and shields.  The keel and bulk heads leave a lot of exposed plywood edges and my plan is to cover them with oak veneer.  The deck planking is Obechi which is soft, brittle and in my eye a little ugly.  I have already ripped a few oak planks and they should work fine. 

I am happy to be here and doing this.  More soon.

post-9182-0-48785700-1392836735_thumb.jpg

post-9182-0-93424600-1392836787_thumb.jpg

post-9182-0-90886200-1392836820_thumb.jpg

post-9182-0-95185000-1392836850_thumb.jpg

Jack

"I Love the smell of sawdust in the morning" apologies to John Melius

Current Build:      Bomb Vessel Granado, 1742 - Cross Section Scratch Build 

Previous Builds:  Oseberg Billing Boats 9th Century Viking Ship Modified

Bluenose ll, AL, Lightly Bashed

Louisa Morrison Half Hull, Scratch Build

Photography Website:     http://www.27birds.com

I will be watch with interest. the osberg is an intersting vessel in which the rules are a little different from today.  It lend itself to interpretaion.  Look over the build logs and use the search funtion to find the logs for your kit. You will find a lot that will aid you and what you do not find we well help you.

David B

Hello Jack,

It's great to see another Viking ship being build.

There are several logs here and Von_Kossa is building one from Billing Boats as well.

Just have a look at the logs.