San Francisco 2 by DesertWolf - Artesania Latina

This is my first attempt at building a wooden ship (or anything for that matter!).  I just woke up one morning with an itch that I had to scratch, so I went to the store and bought the first kit I saw with lots of rigging and guns. :pirate41:   I knew absolutely nothing about kits, planking, rigging etc back then and because of my ignorance I ended up with one of the few kits with a single planked hull.

I’ve been building for more than a year now, spending almost 8 months on the planking alone.  But I’m enjoying every moment!  And thanks to this website and the wealth of information shared here I’ve managed to avoid some major pitfalls.

Some pictures of my progress are shown below.  Planking took forever, as the hard mahogany strips were quite difficult to work with.  I hardly finished 2 planks a week.

Every plank was spiled in the bow area, and key planks were spiled in the stern area as well.

Once spiled, the correct taper (at every bulkhead) was applied working from the new (spiled) edge of the plank.

Next, each plank was bent at the bow end.  For each plank, the curve was determined by bending a soft piece of aluminium to match the plank’s required curve at the bow.  The plank was soaked (no more than 10 mins in cold water) and then heated & bent against the piece of aluminium using a solder iron (and lots of patience and beer!). Another piece of aluminium was bent to match the curve of the first piece and the plank was clamped between the 2 pieces of aluminium to dry overnight.

post-1548-0-93933700-1361891572_thumb.jpg